hello!

20151004_130026Welcome to my first post and thank you for joining me on my journey.

Ever wanted to try a new way of thinking to improve most areas of your life?  I did, well I kind of had to. I’m never going back, and try daily to keep on track because it feels so good.  Sounds simple, but it’s not easy.

It’s been said that doing the same things over and over and expecting a different outcome every time is a form of madness.  Actually, I think we are all a little bit mad.

Rarely taking the time to take a good honest look at what’s working and what’s not in our day to day lives often makes us glaze over or search for distraction.

Anxiety, food, negative thought patterns, two more glasses of wine than you planned to drink, gossip, expecting support where it rarely shows up, letting our ego take over, binging on social media, unhelpful procrastination and self talk … name your poison!

We are making ourselves sick.  Choosing to be present in the here and now is our only reliable medicine.

There is no sugar coated pill here; just solid positivity with a side order of straight talk.

We are going to explore ways to lift, brighten and sooth ourselves: like a facial for the soul.

To feel the freshness of real conversation delivered from a loving place and enjoy the zest of that ‘aha’ moment.

I’m not afraid to visit prickly topics. Expect a warm, unapologetic approach to self development to discover what ‘lights you up’ or pushes your buttons.  Remember they are your buttons, and if anything strikes a nerve, it’s a good place to start exploring.

Don’t be afraid to explore and go back to where it started, but don’t dwell for long.

Most of our conditioning is there for a reason. We can use it as a lesson to teach us how to nurture ourselves and armour up.

Mindfully confront a sticky situation to say that was not ok or I did not deserve that!  You are in charge now.  Own it, tackle it, forgive it.

Try hard not to use it as an excuse to sabotage your joy.  Pain will keep feasting on your energy only if you let the pain take up the space.  Joy will love you back.  Gorge on it.

In life you can bite the juicy apple and spit out the seeds.  What might have the potential to choke you, can also grow into a strong, bountiful tree you could one day climb for a clearer view of what’s ahead.

I’m a great believer in being your own best friend.  go on, do it too, I dare you.

You are the only person that will ever truly know you and what your thinking.  You’re not meant to like all of it either. Thoughts are often like squabbling children or clambering monkeys in the back seat of the car your driving.  Every now and then you have to tell them to shut up! remember, you are not your thoughts.

Speak to your true self like a loving friend or a slightly bewildered child. Make a safe space to let her make an appearance and listen or feel without judgement.

You would only want the best for them.  Remember you were once a child with quirky ways and playful antics who got excited about simple things and perhaps felt sad at times.  We are all big children really and need gentle self guidance, not a hero on a white horse to save us.

What would you say to reassure, empower and settle little you? not half of the harsh telling off you choose to beat yourself up with as an adult I bet!  We all do it.

Let’s just go there! free ourselves from self expectations and forgive all we have screwed up.  Go forward with a thirst for self discovery, playfulness and knowledge like a pioneer.  Press the mental reset button and step into a new healthy mindset.

My 47 years on this planet as an entrepreneur, friend, wife and mother to 3 lovely fellow humans has seen more ups than downs.  Most of the downs I fully own.

I am an optimist with an open mind and a beautiful pear shaped behind who is not afraid to tackle prickly topics.  You can’t be everyone’s cup of tea, and I don’t try to be.

Women’s health and a positive mindset interests me, and that is how I came to write my blog pricklypear.

I hope you enjoy my posts as much as I enjoy writing them.

Feel free to leave your warm comments and mindful insights so we can all be the change we want to see.

Kelly x

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment